Division of the Territory into Electoral Districts

At the meeting of the Municipal Council held on March 7th, 2016, the members of the Council adopted the draft By-Law number 268 « By-Law concerning the division of the Town’s territory into six electoral districts » and this in view of the expected 2017 municipal election.

his draft by-law was done in accordance with the provisions of the Act Respecting Elections and Referendums in Municipalities (RLRQ, c. E-2-2). Its purpose is to divide the Town’s territory into six electoral districts, each one represented by a municipal councillor, and to delimit these districts in such a manner that they have a well-balanced number of electors in each one of them and to ensure the greatest possible socioeconomic homogeneity.

As provided by the Act, each electoral district is delimited in such a manner that the number of electors in this district is not more or less than 25%, and as provided by the Act, and as the case may be, the quotient is obtained by dividing the total number of electors of the municipality by the number of districts.

You may consult the public notice issued following the adoption of this draft by-law, as well as the draft by-law itself (in French only).