Sutton is now part of the Estrie region!

Since July 8, the Brome-Missisquoi MRC and the Haute-Yamaska MRC, which were located in the Montérégie administrative region, are now part of the Estrie region, according to the announcement (in French only) made by the Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing, Ms. Andrée Laforest, and the Minister of Transport and Minister responsible for the Estrie region, Mr. François Bonnardel.

This administrative decision does not change anything in fact to our daily life in the town of Sutton. And we already were in the Estrie region in terms of health.

The name may not be definitive, however, since the Table des MRC de l’Estrie has submitted a request to have the name changed to “Région des Cantons-de-l’Est” (Eastern Townships Region). A regional public consultation will be conducted to survey public opinion.

MRCs from the administrative region of Estrie Source : La Voix de l’Est April, 2021